Southern Stars

That’s All Folks

Word of the post: Tionana (See you soon)

I’ve been home from Malawi for nearly a month now. As I’ve played outside, job hunted and eaten all sorts of food I’ve thought about Malawi but it’s different than it used to be. Before I left as a JF it was a place of unknown that merited respect. After I came home Malawi was a place that I longed for. Before I left in April thinking about Malawi was a source of excitement and a little bit of nervousness. Now when I think of Malawi and my family there it is with fondness, they are a part of me and will be forever. This comes out in small ways like my love for washing clothes by hand, when I say tiene when I want to leave and my desire to have a garden next summer. I don’t know when I will be back next but I know that I will be, maybe with my mum, maybe my sister.

Now that I’m home it feels like time to close this blog. I didn’t write as many stories as I would have liked (if fact I can send you a list of all the titles that I came up with that never got the stories written to go with them) so I would be delighted to talk to you about Malawi anytime.

As a thank you for reading here are some of my favorite pictures from the trip (I’m sorry if there are a lot I edited a lot out):

IMGP3737

Aliya opening a baobob fruit in Liwonde

IMGP3778

The shadows that followed Lucas, Aliya and I all month

IMGP3750

The tea fields of Mulanje

DSC02355

A waterfall that we hiked to in Mulanje

DSC02392

Aliya getting her picture taken at my host sisters graduation

IMGP3954

Ama and I

IMGP3948

My brothers!

IMGP3924

Sweeping (Being allowed to do chores is one of the things I am most grateful to my family for)

IMGP3913

My Ada, Ama and Juli with Lucas and Aliya

IMGP3899

Maize husking!

DSC02649

Maize harvesting in Bua

DSC02688

Playing with Lucas’ host brother and sister in the warehouse

DSC02416

Learning to hoe majestically

Thanks for reading and in the fantastic words of Porkey Pig

porkey

3 comments on “That’s All Folks

  1. James Wattam
    June 24, 2015

    I went to that same waterfall! It was really crowded when we went because of a church/school group who were heading down the mountain at the same time we were.

  2. arlakhan2014
    June 30, 2015

    Thanks for sharing your Malawi with me Rebecca. These pictures remind me of how grateful I am for the adventures we had and the memories we made.

  3. zzchick
    July 31, 2017

    Two years later again…and I am reminded of so much wonderful that came out of this experience and these people. Gratitude and Hugs. Momma

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2015 by .

Navigation

